Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Deckel On?

Options
02Roush2
02Roush2 Posts: 119
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey guys, I just bought a 10 Lb whole brisket at Kroger that says "deckel on". I did a search here but couldn't find what that means. I have only cooked 2 small flats on the BGE and this is my first attempt at a whole one. Can you tell me what "deckel on" means? I am assuming it has something to do with the fat layer but I am certainly not sure!

Comments

• thirdeye
    thirdeye Posts: 7,428
    Options
    The deckle is a meat cutters term for some of the real hard fat and some connecting tissue that is found on the inside face of the brisket (the side opposite the fat cap). It is removed during the butchering process.
    Happy Trails
    ~thirdeye~

Barbecue is not rocket surgery
  • 02Roush2
    Options
    thirdeye wrote:
    The deckle is a meat cutters term for some of the real hard fat and some connecting tissue that is found on the inside face of the brisket (the side opposite the fat cap). It is removed during the butchering process.

I see. Thanks for the explanation! Would you suggest I take it back up there in the morning and have them remove it or is it okay to leave it on? Thanks again!
  • thirdeye
    Options
    Sorry, I read your question too fast. Normally the label will read "Deckle Off". I suppose it could be a mistake, but let me dig through my pictures and maybe I can find a good one to post.