Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

HELP!! Pizza tonight! 1st time

Options
Hitch
Hitch Posts: 402
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Had my egg for a couple of months and really havn't screwed up anything yet. I think I am a professional when it comes to ribs. 8 lb turkey breast is as crazy as I have gotten and it turned out well. I had to buy like $100 worth of the coolest accessories in the world to make it right and I imagine that I need to run to the Egg store today for pizza stuff. I want to cook a couple of them. I have all the pizza making stuff, but feel free to give me suggestions on that.

For the grill, I have a LGE. I have a Large Plate Setter and a good stone ( I think...all these forums are full of cracked stones). Planning on cooking the pizza around 400-450, and making it more thin than thick.

DO I HAVE TO HAVE A PIZZA PEEL? Will it work to just put the stone on the plate setter?

Thanks in advance,

Hitch

Comments

• AZRP
    AZRP Posts: 10,116
    Options
    Its a good idea to have some air space between the plate setter and the stone, I set the plate setter legs up, main grid on the legs, and the stone on the grid. If you don't have a peel, a cookie sheet without sides works. -RP
  • FearlessGrill
    Options
    Another option is to put the plate setter legs down, and use the little green ceramic feet that came with the egg to create the separation between the plate setter and the stone. I did this last night for a bread, which came out great.