Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Spatchcock Chicken

GreenEgger
GreenEgger Posts: 38
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey, I'm a newbie going to try out the Spatchcock Chicken for the first time this week. I was going by the info on NakedWhiz's site, however, could not find the recommended BBQr's Delight Orange Wood Pellets (at neither Ace nor Walmart)...does anyone have any similar smoke suggestions for the recipe that work well?

Thanks for the help!
Brian

Comments

• Mainegg
    Mainegg Posts: 7,787
    HI NEW EGGER! We do this at least once a week cheap dinner, fast and easy and left overs for lunch :) We just use our regular lump and sometimes I add chips for more smoke and sometimes not. I just give it a healthy dusting with some dizzy pig and roast away. You really can screw it up! Enjoy :) Julie
  • Egg-N-Tino
    Egg-N-Tino Posts: 157
    I would skip the smoke pellets for your first go. There will be plenty of smoke generated via the drippings from the cook. Poultry soaks up smoke like a sponge and if too much is used, you will not like it.
  • I would second (or third) the recommendation to skip the smoke on the first one. Chicken is very susceptible to retaining smoke.

Also, make sure your fire is burning good and clean before you put the bird on. I don't think I ever go less than 20 minutes from the time I light the fire till I put the food on. Smoke from the chimney should be non-existent or translucent-blueish.

here's a real good link from fellow Egger Thirdeye to get you started: