Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help me learn how to sear--

Options
raider60
raider60 Posts: 62
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
On Tuesday night I tried a yellow fin tuna recipe I got from this website. I was supposed to sear the marinated tuna for about four minutes on each side between 600-700 degrees. I followed the instructions, but experienced some problems. First, all of the tuna steaks stuck to the grill. Secondly, the two that didn't fall apart when I tried to remove them were very dry. I'm still a newbie, but the other dishes I have done--steak, pork butt, and ribs--have come out pretty well. This was my first disappointment. What should I do differently next time? Thank you--

Comments

• 70chevelle
    70chevelle Posts: 280
    Options
    4 minutes on each side @ 700*? :blink: Tuna should be cooked rare, with about a 1/8" white ring around the outside and the center just warm. You probably could have gotten away with about 1 minute per side. To help with the sticking, you could wipe some cooking oil on the grates before you put the tuna on. Give it another try! Good Luck.
  • The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    Options