Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Long cooking times

DirtyBuddha
DirtyBuddha Posts: 5
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi everyone.

I am relatively new to my medium egg (should have got the large :S ).

The other day I had a large Boston Butt and wanted to cook the bejeebers out of it. I was thinking, let it cook slow all night and about noon, scrumptious falling off the bone meat.

About 2AM we checked the egg, and it was spooling down.
I peeked in and I had ran out of charcoal. OK, I carefully lifted stuff out and poured more charcoal in.
I filled the burn cup thing to the top. I took a shortcut and used the nasty firestarter cubes..arg, grill still smells like chemicals. I now use the electric starter or a MAP torch (thanks of those suggestions people).

It ran out again, I dunno 8 hours or so later.

So is there a trick to long burns, can I put charcoal above the burn section?

Is it just a limitation of the Medium?

And what is safe to scrub the egg and get rid of the fire starter smell?

Thank you all in advance!

And contrary to the tone of this post, I LOVE my egg.
Everything has come out great, even the Boston Butt that I pulled out several hours than I was planning.

S

Comments

• Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Fill the egg all the way to the top of the firering with lump. It won't hurt a thing.

It may be the brand of lump you are using, but I have gone over 18 hours on the medium with lump to spare using BGE brand. I've done many briskets, butts, and picnics on the medium and have never run out of lump.