Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

tri-tip in cognito???

Options
citychicken
citychicken Posts: 484
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
yesterday i saw an advertisement for tri-tip posted in front of a butcher's shop here in ohio. $3.99 /lb. i think that is a pretty fair price. i planned on jumping in especially 'cause tri-tip is a difficult cut to find near cleveland.

well i visited the butcher today. i've never done business with him before. he special cut three for me. individually wrapped them in freezer paper. i got them home and they looked quite unlike any tri-tip i ever purchased before. in other words not the traditional boomerang shaped piece of meat. they are rectangular cut with fat cap and look like a brisket flat although definitely not briskett

i called him. he told me that it was top sirloin cut from the top round. certainly not what i was expecting to hear considering that i believe tri-tip traditionally comes from the boneless bottom
sirloin butt.

so is this just an honest regional mistake in nomenclature or traditional naming. kind of like delmonicos or new york steaks being named differently depending where you are. or perhaps is the meat cut differently? or just some butcher passing of one cut for another?

Comments

• Car Wash Mike
    Car Wash Mike Posts: 11,244
    Options