Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pulled Pork??? I am Dazed and Confused!!!

Options
Byrdo
Byrdo Posts: 36
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
The past several weeks there has been a ton of talk about Pulled Pork. This is one of the main reasons I purchased my BGE. However, I am a newbie at both the BGE and PP.[p]Getting to the point.... I am very confused about it all. I have heard about Boston Butts, Picnic shoulders, Turbo Butts(I have this one figured out), leaving the bone in and out, removing the fat or skin layer(I am not sure which). I have to cook some PP for a Memorial Day Party and I don't know where to start. Can someone tell me what is the safest bet if any? I also want to do a trial run while at work, is this feasible? If so, please tell me what is the best time to start the cooking.[p]Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Wardster
    Wardster Posts: 1,006
    Options
    Byrdo,
    Fear not. Go to the recipie section and use Elder Ward's method. If you are a beginner, forget all other advice and follow this to a tee. You may let the temp cook a little above 200*, up to 225. Do this and experiment from there. It's a sure thing, each time, every time. For your NEXT butt, come back for some short cuts and different methods... you'll thank yourself...

Apollo Beach, FL
  • BobbyG
    BobbyG Posts: 67
    Options
    Byrdo,