Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked Turkey question

Options
Smokin Kansas
Smokin Kansas Posts: 10
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Has anyone had any experience smoking a turkey? I have never done one before and would like to know if there is any "gotchas" that I need to be aware of? I assume 225 until it has reached an internal temp. 190. thanks for any advice!

Comments

• Slotmercenary
    Slotmercenary Posts: 1,071
    Options
    check out the pages and recipes for doing turkey. it is an easy cook and well worth it. i do mine at 325-350 grate and they come out fabulous. use a little Pecan wood if you have it or fruit woods work well also. some people brine their birds before cooking and some not. it is a matter of personal preference and practice makes perfect.if you are doing a whole bird vs a breast the times are different.

DSC_6920.jpg
  • NibbleMeThis
    NibbleMeThis Posts: 2,295
    Options
    I have two favorite recipes for smoked turkey. The first one is actually for fresh bone-in turkey breast (not boneless breasts that most places sell). For me, this is the perfect size for our family, although it is only white meat.
    100_7062applewoodturkey.jpg

Applewood Smoked Turkey Breast Recipe here
    Note that this recipe was how I did it on my offset smoker last year; however, it should work the same with the egg, with the exception of not having to add wood chips so often.

My favorite whole turkey recipe is this one from Southern Living a few years ago,

Hickory Smoked Bourbon Turkey
    Yields: 12

Ingredients

1 turkey
    2 cups maple syrup