Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Last Night\'s Meatloaf

Options
FlaMike
FlaMike Posts: 648
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been doing this recipe for about 2 years, and just now took the pics.

100_0845.jpg

330 Indirect, pull at 155, rest till 160. about 1.5 hrs. Cherry & hickory for smoke.

100_0847.jpg

Just a faint hint of pink. Perfect! .... Forgot to mention... that's a 4 lb loaf.

100_0848.jpg

Comments

• SunDiegoEgger
    Options
    Meatloaf looks yummy! Recipe???
  • Bordello
    Bordello Posts: 5,926
    Options
    Must be meatloaf week. :laugh:
    Very nice looking, inside and out. Hope you have enough for leftovers.

Cheers,
    Bordello
  • Beanie-Bean
    Beanie-Bean Posts: 3,092
    Options
    Great cook, Mike. Is that circle on the cutting board a reference for rib or brisket length that can go in the cooker? Also, what's the recipe for the meatloaf? I'd like to try cooking some.

Thanks!
  • FlaMike
    Options
    Actually, the circle is for a 12" pizza crust. When I do the dough dance, it gives me a clue when to stop. Recipe follows:
  • FlaMike
    Options
    Got this off this forum, but forgot who to credit.

I have made just a couple modifications, but pretty much stuck with the original recipe since it's so good. Also, I usually make a double batch and divide it into 2-3 loaves. I vacuum-seal & freeze the 1-2 extra loaves to cook some other time.
    Makes 4lb loaf. Can double the recipe and divide into 2-3 loaves.
    2 lbs ground chuck
    1 lb ground pork
    1 TBS canola oil
    1/2 cup minced onion up to 3 oz.