Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I have been looking for advice on how to make my brisket more moist. I can't find it here. I saw on the old forum to look on the new forum and can't find anything. I have tried flat 5-7 pound pieces for 7-9 hours to 200 degrees internally. I have made delicious briskets, they are just not moist. I even did it with strips of bacon on top hoping the extra grease would help. It was good, but still dry. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Comments

• Cory430
    Cory430 Posts: 1,073
    I am not a brisket expert by any means, but I think that you need to be trying larger pieces of meat. I think that 9-11lbs is a bit more manageable in the moist department.

Hope this helps,
    Cory
  • Broc
    Broc Posts: 1,398
    I'm not a brisquet expert -- let's hope other answer.

Whenever I do ANY lo-'n-slow, any type of roast, I put water, ginger-ale, coke -- whatever -- in the drip pan, which boils and keeps the inside chamber of the Egg moist.

I've never had dried meat this way, so long as I don't over cook.

Also, I pull the meat at the lowest possible temperature [brisquet as close to 190 as possible] and then double wrap in HDfoil and towels... and hold for several hours...

Juicy-juicy!

Good luck --

~ Broc
  • ThrRoff
    ThrRoff Posts: 169
    I am not a brisket expert either. However, I like to wrap the meat in foil and add a cup or so of beef broth for the last couple hours of the cook. This one was wrapped after the picture and it was nice and moist. It did start at about 11 pounds.