Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cooking on a raised Grid what are the advantages?

Options
Pharmeggist
Pharmeggist Posts: 1,191
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi Eggheads,
I was wondering the advantages of cooking on a raised grid. I have used the plate-setter for indirect cooking.... just wanted to know when you employ the raised grid option. I am considering buying a WOO2 and spider just want to learn more about tricking my egg out ;)
~Pharmeggist

Comments

• Jeeves
    Jeeves Posts: 461
    Options
    I'm still a newbie, but I believe:

#1: It's a little warmer up there, so you may save a little on fuel

#2: More cooking space

-jeeves
  • East Cobb Eggy
    Options
    Also, it takes the cook a little further away from the fire.

Greg
  • Grandpas Grub
    Options
    Taike a look at the adjustible rig with the spider...

I find cooking on a raized gird is a bit moister. It also allows one to cook direct with the meat further away from the lump, less burning.

I read a post sometime ago and the person was talking about a 'sweet spot' in the egg. I didn't know enough at that and I am now wondering if that is what they were refering to.

GG
  • Beanie-Bean
    Beanie-Bean Posts: 3,092
    Options
    My goodness...he lives! How's it going? Do you still need volunteers for that show for the BBQ Guru guys? Let me know...ya gotta come check out the new Small BGE I picked up. That thing is awesome!