Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My Home made Pizza & Sauce Recipe

Chef Arnoldi
Chef Arnoldi Posts: 974
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
i've been making pizza for many years now, using a regular oven on baking pans. i now make pizza on BGE. My recipe follows:
Sauce:
1 large can crushed tomato (i like hunts).
1 small onion finely chopped.
1 teasp. salt
1 tablsp olive oil
5 grinds of black pepper from my grinder.
1 tablsp basil.
1 tablsp oregano.
saute onions in the olive oil for a few minutes.
add the tomatos, salt, pepper & herbs.
on medium heat stir from time to time cooking for 20 min.[p]Pizza dough:(food processor method)
1 cup water(room temp)
1 pack yeast
1 tablsp olive oil
1 teasp salt
+/-3 cups Breadflour (always best when using yeast)[p]pour water into processor, add yeast - give a quick pulse.
add about 1 cup breadflour, salt & oil - give a few quick pulses.
add 1 1/2 cup more breadflour & process to form a ball- adding more flour as needed. the dough should not be sticky, so adjust the flor used to get a fairly firm, smooth dough.
remove from the processor bowl & place on a floured surface to knead it a few more times by hand.
place the dough in a covered bowl to rise til double +/-1 1/2 hours.
remove from the bowl, punch down & form ino two balls that can be rolled out into 2 12" pizzas.
( you may want to fold over the edges, to give an edge crust/rim to contain sauce & ingredients)
my last BGE bake was @ 400°F 35-40min.

Comments

• Tim M
    Tim M Posts: 2,410
    pizza2.jpg