Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smithfield Ham

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm in need of advice re how to cook an uncooked Smithfield dry-cured country ham in a ceramic cooker. Or should I follow the instructions on the bag and do it in the kitchen? I have no experience with Smithfield hams.

Comments

• AndyR
    AndyR Posts: 130
    George,[p]Try this. Never done it myself so I have no clue if it's good.[p]

• Elder Ward
    Elder Ward Posts: 330
    George,
    Are you talking salt and pepper cured? Like in a cloth sack?
    Elder Ward

• Elder Ward, yes, in a cloth sack, dry cured, aged, and smoked. It's called Luter's Mild Cure (which means mildly smoked) Virginia Country Ham, cured by The Smithfield Packing Co. Sack instructions say to soak 12-24 hrs prior to cooking to eliminate some of the salt, and to scrub-off any mold. The sack doesn't mention pepper in the cure. What's the best method to cook it?

• Zip
    Zip Posts: 372
    George,[p]We buy one of these a year and cut into eight ounce portions and freeze. I prefer to slice it as thin as I can and then soak in water overnight, then pan fry it. It goes great on a biscuit or with eggs for breakfast or with some veggies for supper. If you cook it whole, they are usually too salty to eat.[p]HTH,
    Ashley