Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie questions, just bought brand new XL

easygoinjay
easygoinjay Posts: 29
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Howdy all. My name is Jay and I finally took the plunge and bought an XL a couple of days ago. I've been BBQing for a couple of years on the Weber Smokey Mountain and needed a new grill. I decided on the BGE for a number of reasons. I've been researching it for a long time and love it so far. I have a couple of newbie questions for you.

1. I want to cook 3 pork butts on the egg. I can see that they will easily fit on the grate, and I will use a platesetter. I plan on doing a test cook with one butt just to practice low-temp control first. My question is this: Do I need a separate drip pan for each butt? The instructional recipes I've seen have all been for one butt and invlove using a v-rack and drip pan. I don't have 3 of these. Suggestions?

2.Does the XL take longer to heat up than other BGEs? I've heard about how quickly these cookers come up to searing temps, but have to admit that it took longet than I expected the other day. I'm sure I'll get the hang of it, but I'm not sure what to expect.

Thanks in advance,

-Jay

Comments

• Scott
    Scott Posts: 28
    1. Do I need a separate drip pan for each butt? The instructional recipes I've seen have all been for one butt and invlove using a v-rack and drip pan. I don't have 3 of these. Suggestions?

I put a large drip pan on the platesetter (legs up), put the grid on the legs above the platesetter, and put the butt(s) on the grid. No v-rack, no seperate drip pans.