Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

temp control

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new to the BGE and have only used it twice with someone else starting the fire. In all cases, the temp seems to work at lower temps but has been difficult to maintain higher temps. Even with the vents open all the way, right now the brisket temp is going down to 200 and I wanted a steady 250. It took forever to get the coals lit and they are still not all gray. Tried following the firestarter suggestions but am frustrated by difficulty of how long it is taking to light and how difficult it has been to maintain higher temps. Suggestions?

Comments

• Metalhead
    Metalhead Posts: 668
    Options
    Gina in Nashville,
    check the line up of the innard pc at bottom with the vent door. the openings should line up....also a coat hangar with a 2" long pc bent at a 90 degree angle and ran into vent opening at bottom and into the holes of the fire grate can sometimes unblock small pcs of lump and ash that have clogged the holes...ifyou want to get your fire raging then after you light your fire starters....leave vent door all the way open and the lid to top open after a few minutes the fire shold be raging[p]don't believe dvd when it says you can be cooking in 7 minutes.....all good things come to those who wait[p]good luck and keep us posted[p]Jan[p]

• The Naked Whiz
    Options
    Gina in Nashville,