Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question about blackened steaks

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I love blackened steaks, but also am a well-done or at least medium-well kind of guy. Most blackened steaks I see here are pretty rare on the inside.[p]I just bought an iron skillet and want to try blackened steaks for the first time, but am unsure how to proceed. Do I grill them first to get them medium well and then put them in the skillet for the blackening process? If this isn't the right approach, what is?[p]I really appreciate any suggestions. I am new to my egg and have never blackened anything before. Thanks

Comments

• Hub,
    I am no expert (read rank beginner) but I would think you could follow the T-Rex method exactly and get the results you are looking for. It's the roast, or second part of the cooking that will determine how "done" the meat will be.[p]I have only done it once with rib-eye's but the result was spectacular! My buddy Larry kept saying over and over that it was without question the very best piece of beef he had ever eaten.[p]Good luck.[p]Jay

[ul][li]http://nakedwhiz.com/trexsteak.htm[/ul]
  • Hub,