Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Anyone try the BGE Sure Grip Oven Mitt?

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
As a newbie I'm looking for recommendations as to what kind of gloves to purchase for lifting the hot plate setter or pizza stone out and would I need 2 gloves. I've tried various silicon ones at the stores but I find them hard to manage. What do you recommend for a lady with smaller hands? Would the BGE sure grip be more pliable because it looks thinner? Those of you with welder gloves, do they really insulate against a hot stone? I'm currently using those pampered chef cotton oven mitts for lifting the dome when it gets too hot but couldn't imagine using them to lift out the plate setter. What do you all use?

Comments

• JudyFoodie,
    i use an ove glove, still gets a little warm, but perfect for quick movement

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,880
    IMG_0487.jpg
    <p />JudyFoodie,
    I much prefer the blue Orka mittens and yes while the grip is somewhat clumsey when I'm sticking my hands in harms way I know I'll be protected to 500°. I use the short red ones when I'm lifting my Dutch oven in and out. While I have welders gloves and use them from time to time in lower temps the heat transfer is rather quick compared to the other ones. BTW if you're a member of Sam's Club they sell a pair of 500° gloves with opposing thumbs for $10.

Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172