Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Large Brisket and My First

NU2BBQ
NU2BBQ Posts: 98
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Been egging for 2 years now and love it. This forum has been extremely helpful as I am new to low and slow style cooking. Just picked up a 14# brisket today. It's quite thick. Should I plan on 2 hr/lb? Should I marinate it or spray it from time to time to keep it from drying out? I am thinking that this beast will take approx 28 hrs.[p]Thanks in advance

Comments

• NU2BBQ, my advice is to buy Dr.BBQ's first cookbook, follow recipe, and it will come out GREAT!

• NU2BBQ,
    can't offer much help...I've just lit the egg for my first overnight cook with a 13 lb brisket...my plan is to separate the point when the flat is done and cook it more, while the flat is held in cooler. as has often been suggested here...the 6 lb. flat I did a couple weeks ago was done way faster than 2 hrs per pound...guess I'll find out in real time...good luck to us both!

• Buster Dog BBQ
    Buster Dog BBQ Posts: 1,366
    NU2BBQ,
    No, allow about 1.5 hours per pound. Make sure you trim it up real good. Keep the point attached until after you pull from the cooler unless you want burnt ends then you can separate after it's cooked.
    On the fat, you can feel how hard the fat is. Cut that down until it is more tender.

• NU2BBQ
    Thanks for the info. I'll get this thing going on Sat morning and sometime Sunday I'll see what I get.

• NU2BBQ,