Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Ribs: Rookie Questions

WudEyeDoo
WudEyeDoo Posts: 201
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been watching this forum for a few weeks now and I must say Y'all are top notch! I'm a total newbie but enthusiastic and ready to learn. Got my large BGE TODAY![p]It just seems like ribs ought to be a man's first cook on his brand new Egg. I plan to use JJ's method. The baby backs are rubbed and in the fridge for tomorrow. I found out we have company coming tomorrow so I got 3 slabs.[p]Problem is, it doesn't look like there's enough room to fit it all on the grill. I have one of those rib racks that would hold it but I don't know if that is the best way to go. Also, does that mean I should cook longer? Hotter? What about turning?[p]Any advise?[p]Bob

Comments

• Big Murth
    Big Murth Posts: 350
    WudEyeDoo,
    So far, I've cooked a max of 3 big BB racks on my Large. If you've got an upright rack holder (holds 'em like a toaster)..it's all good. With all that rub and frig-time, you should be fine. Just watch your temps closely, and don't let them burn too fast. Paint them with your sauce in the final 1/3 to 1/4 of the cook...any earlier and all the sauce (sugars) will burn black.
    There's plenty of other ways to set the BB racks on the Egg, and a lot more advice from better sources here, than just me. Stay tuned.....and congratulations on your Egg purchase!! Big Murth

• Trout Bum
    Trout Bum Posts: 343
    WudEyeDoo,