Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Roaster Chicken

Options
WessB
WessB Posts: 6,937
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I know there are several in the recipe section..but I wanted to throw it out for discussion...I just got my "Willy`s Sitter" and I got a 3.75# chicken...would like any and all advice time, temps, direct/indirect....was kinda thinkin I might do something along the lines of ChefRD`s wing recipe as most claim it gives a fried like crust..but add some Regianno to the batter for a parmesian kinda crust...so let em fly if you would please..I have never done a chicken before and don`t know squat...skin on / off..what to put in the sitter...guess you get the picture...roaster chicken 101..LOL[p]Wess

Comments

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    Options
    WessB,
    Just leave the skin on. Put whatever you want in the sitter. How about beer and garlic! The breading will probably work well. With JJs Game Hen recipe you roll the birds in sour cream, then coat with the breadcrumbs/parmesian cheese. The breading makes a nice gorgeous crusty coating. I am no expert, but I think ChefRD's coating would also work very well. I would cook at 375 over your plate setter and a drip pan.....or any indirect setup. Try and get the bird elevated at least 4 inches above your drip pan (or use a small pan)....else your bird could cook unevenly. Cook til breast temp of 165-170. Could benefit to kick dome temp up over 400 for the last 15-30 minutes....but don't do this if the crust is already browned. Figure 15-20 minute/pound.
    Have fun!!