Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

maintaining low smoking temp. without coals going out

Options
AL
AL Posts: 81
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new with the Egg, but I love it. I am having trouble smoking at low temps. I try to maintain 200-220 to smoke fish but the coals go out and the wood chips quit smoking. If I open the vents up the temp rolls past the 220. I am not shutting the vents completely but I either have them to open or to closed. What is the happy medium?
Is there a book on smoking fish with the egg?
Thanks Al

Comments

• Spring Chicken
    Spring Chicken Posts: 10,255
    Options
    AL,
    Controlling tempterature is all about getting to know your Egg. It isn't difficult but there are a lot of variables. Just follow your gut instinct about how far to open the bottom and top vents. You'll get the hang of it.[p]Just as a matter of advice though, 200° is harder to maintain than 225° or 250° and most low and slow recipes will probably be in the 225° to 250° range. [p]I've been able to maintain 115° to smoke cheese direct. But I don't think I could have maintained it for a really long cook.[p]Depending on the type of lump I'm using and how damp it is from the humidity a typical 225° setup on mine is about 1/2" on the bottom vent and the Daisy open about 1/2", but only after the fire is settled down and not producing smoke.[p]Fix you a manly beverage and get something slow to cook. Then start having fun.[p]Spring "Blow'n & Go'n But Huff'n & Puff'n" Chicken
    Spring Texas USA

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,740
    Options
    AL,