Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Ribs

Options
SamIam
SamIam Posts: 20
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I just got my egg and love it. I'm also new to KC, so I thought I'd try to make my own ribs similar to the delicious ribs you can so easily find here in KC. I used Bubbas Top Secret Rib Rub and it was a great rub. I was wondering if somebody could help me with a question... I cooked up 2 slabs of pork spare ribs at about 250 degrees for about 4 hours. The larger ribs were tender, but not as tender as I would like (falling off the bone!) The smaller ribs seemed to be quite a bit more tender. Does that mean I should have cooked the ribs longer or at a different temp? I'm opposed to boiling good ribs, so I was hoping someone could help.

Comments

• Mike Oelrich
    Mike Oelrich Posts: 544
    Options
    Sam I am,[p] Probably just needed to cook the larger ones a bit more. Did you cook direct or indirect?[p]MikeO
  • SamIam
    SamIam Posts: 20
    Options
    MikeO,
    I cooked direct. I thought I might need to cook a little longer. Thanks!

• Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642
    Options
    Sam I am, spare ribs are a longer cook, usually in the 5 to 5.5 hour class. Baby backs are a bit faster in the 3 to 4 hour range. A St. Louis cut of spares, (minus the flap) could give you a more uniform time.