Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pit cooker Vs. Lrg. EGG

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am interested in the Lrg. EGG. I am also interested in a pit cooker. Why the egg & why not a pit cooker.[p]Be kind, I am just beginning to look!

Comments

• Lee,[p]Generally, unless you are willing to pony up a few thousand dollars for a good backyard pit, the egg is far superior. Temperature control is what it's all about. The egg can hold anything steady from 160F to 900F+. That makes it a cold smoker, a low-n-slow pit, an oven, a pizza oven, and an incinerator for searing steaks. For low-n-slows, you load it with lump once and forget it for as much as 24 hours. No feeding the fire every hour or so. It's so well insulated that weather is seldom a factor. Food tends to stay much moister in the egg so there's not much reason for mops and bastes.[p]On the other side, offset stick burners look so much more sexy in your driveway...
  • Here is the best basic response you'll probably get back all day:[p]
    "Its the Quality of the Cooker that does the Cooking"[p]
    take that from the eggsperts at the Big Green Egg!!!!!!!!!!

• Celtic Wolf
    Celtic Wolf Posts: 9,773