Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Took the Plunge!

Options
David B.
David B. Posts: 24
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I just bought a large BGE. I also bought the cradle and wings, a daisy wheel, ash tool. I have some experience smoking on a cheapo bullet smoker and more grilling. I look forward to my first cook on the egg. Unfortunately it won't be delivered until Thursday May 17th. In the meantime, wish me luck. I look forward to learning much about using my egg on this forum.[p]David Burnside

Comments

• Tim M
    Tim M Posts: 2,410
    Options
    David B.,[p]Many congradulations. Since you have some experience with smokers you will adapt even more quickly. You will notice that the low air flow thru the ceramic cookers that food doesn't dry out and you don't need to add water to moisten everything. You will notice that a small amount of wood goes a looong way, again because the air moves thru slower - the smoke hangs around longer in there. Ignore the manual's recipe section and post questions here. The manual is grossly inaccurate in times and temps to cook at.[p]Tim
    [ul][li]Tim's website of pics and cookkbook[/ul]
  • Smokey
    Smokey Posts: 2,468
    Options
    David B.,[p]Congratulations are in order! The anticipation (of the egg’s arival may be hard, but if you're like me, you find yourself wondering why you waited so long to "take the plunge"! I love my eggs (2 of them) and suspect you will too! Can't wait to hear of your egg-ventures![p]Smokey

• Smokey
    Smokey Posts: 2,468
    Options
    Tim M,