Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Beginner questions about flavor and charcoal type

Options
Dave
Dave Posts: 163
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hello - I'm new to all this, so please go easy on me. I used to use a Smokey Joe with Kingsford; I know better now, but I did have plenty of successful meals that were unforgetable. Last month I decided to step up and buy a gas Weber Q 300, on the advice of a friend. It is a well thought out grill, and very convenient, however the taste is - well - it makes me wonder why I don't just fry it in the kitchen. I cannot get that flavor that made my mouth water, even when using a smoker box, etc. Both my wife and I agree this is unacceptable.[p]I have just ordered a medium BGE. I read many reviews on lump charcoal (nakedwhiz) how some "give off no flavor of their own" and others have a strong smokey smell. So if I throw on a couple steaks using Kamoda Extruded Coconut, for instance, am I going to be left with a steak that has the same smokeless flavor as the gas grill? I want my first BGE experience to make me forget I wasted all that money on the Weber.[p]Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Sandbagger
    Options