Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Chicken

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm new with the "Egg",
LOve it so far. But today I cooked a 3 pound Chicken. Followed the guidlines plus to satisfy my wife, I gave it an extra fifteen minutes. The breast was juicy and white, the thighs and wings were juicy and quite pink. Is this normal? The juices were running perfectly clear but the pinkness scared her. Can anyone help me?

Comments

• Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642
    Options
    Barry Lee, sure thing.. if the thigh temps were up to 180 and breast was at the 170 top end temp..your free and clear.
    The redness you speak of is due to the smoke even from pure charcoal. you find it more pronounced in pork as and called a "smoke ring". This is a desirable characteristic to most.
    If the juices were clear..its a good sign your well cooked.
    I have found that the closer a bird is to a drip pan, the more problem's I have with a under cooked area that is exposed to the pan. Raising my birds as much as 4 inches over the pan (other meats too) increases the uniformity of the smoke ring and crusting.
    Welcome to the forum and feel free to jump in any time..Some one will coach you thru the problem.
    Char-Woody

• Tim M
    Tim M Posts: 2,410
    Options