Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Egg Temp?? How do I get egg to 500-600 range??

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a newbie with the Egg no doubt! I've followed the rules and cant seem to get the temp up high enough for cooking steaks and such. Anyone got any pointers?? I leave the bottom vent wide open as well as the top. The highest I seem to get it to is 400 or so. It's brand new so I know its getting good air flow. Should I use a chimmney to set the charcoil or just layer the coals in a bed and ignite? Thank ya much!!!

Comments

• Wise One
    Wise One Posts: 2,645
    Egg Newbie, the temperature is a factor of three factors:
    1. Lump
    2. Oxygen
    3. Time[p]Assuming you put enough lump into the firebox (don't believe that "double handful" stuff in the manual. You need a full firebox to get it up to 500.), and that oxygen can freely (no blocked holes in the grate or firbox and bottom and top vents are open) then after 30 minutes you should have a 500 degree (or hotter) fire.

• Popsicle
    Popsicle Posts: 523
    I think Wise One is on the right track. Use more lump. After you get it lit, stir the lump around a little and then wait about 10 more minutes. I am certain you will have a 500+ fire. Good luck. Popsicle
    Willis Tx.
  • Egg Newbie,
    Also, make sure the opening in the bottom of the firebox is lined up with the bottom vent.[p]TNW

The Naked Whiz
  • The Naked Whiz,
    Thanks for advice!! Im thinkin Im not using enough lump as mentioned earlier. Thats what I get for following manuals for a change. ha.

• Haggis