Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Internal Bread Temperature?

Options
Kyle
Kyle Posts: 156
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Since I am going to bake bread the first thing in the morning, maybe I should ask someone smarter than I am, what the internal temperature of bread should be when done. ??[p]Any help will be appreciated.[p]Kyle

Comments

• SuperDave
    SuperDave Posts: 319
    Options
    Kyle,
    I'm no expert... but I believe good ole mom taught me that when you baked bread it was done when risen and fully golden brown.
    You can use a thin wire (cake tester) and insert into the fullest part of the loaf and when it comes out clean and dry it's done.[p] I'd go mainly by browness.[p]Good Luck let us know how it turns out!

• uncbbq
    uncbbq Posts: 165
    Options
    Kyle,
    190-200 degrees, depending on how firm you want it. The crust color can vary greatly with the oven temp., but you want at least 185 deg. in the center.

• Chef Arnoldi
    Options
  • icemncmth
    icemncmth Posts: 1,165
    Options
    Kyle,[p]Depends on what type of crust you have..the 190deg is close..[p]If you want a crunchy crust..spritz it lightly with water three times during the first 12 mins of baking..[p]One easy way to tell if bread is done besides internal temp
    is the thump test...thump the bread with your finger and it should sound hollow

• Eggtuary
    Eggtuary Posts: 400
    Options
    Kyle,