Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I hate to throw away chicken...

2»

Comments

• bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    Theophan said:
    bgebrent said:
    ... Disagree brother. Too much afraid and not science. 

My brother, you might be right about possibly too much afraid.  Yeah, I do tend to be paranoid.  :)

But no, sorry, plenty of science:  First, I'm a retired physician, and I studied microbiology as a biology major in college, and again in medical school, where I also studied infectious diseases, notably including foodborne illness.  I've also spent dozens and dozens of hours going over reports of incidents of foodborne illness and what was found to have caused them, and the recommendations of experts at the CDC, FDA, etc., to try to offer information to my church about people (a) bringing food to church, and trying to minimize the risks in that, and (b) cooking food for fundraisers, etc..  I've read cover to cover the ServeSafe manual that is the standard used by the food service industry across the country.  I really am pretty darned familiar with this topic.

Here are a few lines from a very quick search just now:

Centers for Disease Control:  "Foods that have dangerous bacteria in them may not taste, smell, or look different."

CDC again:  "Food contaminated with Staph toxin may not smell bad or look spoiled."

CDC again:  "Contaminated foods usually look and smell normal, which is why it is important to know how to prevent Salmonella infection."