Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What is the Best Blackstone griddle out there?

2»

Comments

• Focker
    Focker Posts: 8,364
    edited April 2017
    This may help put things into perspective...
    17=12K BTUs
    28= 30K
    36=60K

I'm far from a thermodynamics expert, and know just enough to be dangerous, but does heat rise with a big a$$ chunk of steel in it's way?
    Brandon
    Quad Cities
    "If yer gonna denigrate, familiarity with the subject is helpful."

• HeavyG
    HeavyG Posts: 10,323
    If I wanted to worry about something I'd be more concerned about the heat from the griddle blowing up the 1lb gas bomb designed to be just a couple inches from its side than burning a table surface a couple inches below it.
    “Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.” ― Philip K. Diçk

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    I have the big stainless 4-burner blackstone griddle.  It works fine.  As far as griddles go, it doesn't perform anywhere near commercial griddles, which cost a small fortune and have heavy 3/4" (round abouts) thick slabs of steel for the cooking surface. 

The blackstone has hot spots under all the burners.  You learn to work around it.  Also it cools down relatively quickly because of the lack of thermal mass.

That said, it does the job, and for the price you aren't going to do much better with another brand.
    RRP said: