Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Delicious smoked Kingfish, Bluefish or Mackerel

Options
I've been using a medium BGE for coming on 20 years. One of my absolute favorites to cook is fish. In my opinion, oily types of fish are the best as they stand up to the dry heat of smoking better than, say, flounder. Kingfish, Mackerel and especially Bluefish are the best there are for making a delicious meal.

One trick is to make sure you brine the fish before you smoke it. There are dozens of variations on brining, but I like to use 1 gallon of water with 12 tablespoons of sea salt or kosher salt, 3/4 cup of dark brown sugar, 1/2 cup of Yoshida Marinade, 2 tablespoons of onion power, and 1 tablespoon powdered garlic. Mix it together well and use a large bowl, plastic bucket or a fish poacher to marinate the fish for 6 hours, but at least 2 if you're in a hurry.

After brining, put the fish on a rack in the refrigerator and let it dry until it gets tacky to the touch. That usually happens in about 2 hours. Don't worry if you don't get this sticky finish, you can still cook the fish if it's dry, but the additional drying will help with the flavor on the surface.