Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I Was Gifted A Flavor Enhancer Tenderizer - Question

My sister was proud as punch giving me this tenderizer for Christmas. I've never used a tenderizer before. What I gather or know is that it's made to make cheaper cuts of meat more tender by breaking down fibers. Is that somewhat accurate? I can't get my head wrapped around how that's not ruining the meat.

It also has the option of injecting while tenderizing. I can maybe see how that can help.

Is this a tool that I should be learning how to use or better left on the shelf taking up space?

"The pig is an amazing animal. You feed a pig an apple and it makes bacon. Let's see Michael Phelps do that" - Jim Gaffigan

Minnesota

Comments

• paqman
    paqman Posts: 4,660
    It is fine for tougher cuts of meat or if you cook your steaks well done.  If you grill your steaks as they should be, rare/medium rare, you have to be careful because it creates a path for potential surface bacteria to move into the meat.

Don't know about the injector option but I have a jaccard (same concept with regard to tenderizing) and will use it on occasion on the flat of a packer brisket.  Don't use as much as I once did (as I haven't found benefit although some swear by it).  If you do use it, make sure it is on a cut that will end at a high temperature as any surface contamination gets driven into the meat.  Of course, Costco blade tenderizes all their non-cryovac beef and no one has had any issues with that.