Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT: favorite way to make French Fries?

NDG
NDG Posts: 2,431
edited January 2017 in Off Topic
I am not experienced at Deep Fry . . and found lots of conflicting methods (start cold oil, twice or single fry, etc) so want your tips (temp, time, potato cut, etc.) on best way to make french fries.

Hoping to Fry Outside . . using nuwave induction burner, cast iron dutch oven, peanut oil.
Maybe toss at end with herbs to make greek fries ?? hmm . . 
Columbus, OH

“There are only two ways to live your life.  One is as though nothing is a miracle.  The other is as if everything is” 

Comments

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,671
    been a while but cold soak in water, dry an hour on a rack, fry low 300's til they turn color, into paper bag, rest til soft in bag with top folded over, raise temp of oil to upper 300's and back in til crispy outside soft inside. i used to use a mix of crisco, lard and whatever veggie i had around, the lard seemed to be a key ingredient.
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • fishlessman
    another way thats different is to boil the little new potatoes, air dry in fridge overnight, smash between hands just enough to crack open, milk dip, flour with spice, drop in 350 degree oil. these are great for camping with fish fries, you can have them boiled days ahead, great for breakfast as well.
    fukahwee maine

• NDG
    thanks @fishlessman . . so you drop the smashed new potatoes in milk?
    Columbus, OH