Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Starting my charcoal , am I doing it wrong?

Options
I see a lot of comments about special starting cubes or fancy electric starters even weed burning torches.  I wad up a paper towel with some canola oil and stick in my lump charcoal and light it with a match. Am I missing something ? Will this screw something up eventually ? Just curious

Comments

• MeTed
    MeTed Posts: 800
    Options
    That way is perfect. I have been doing it that way for 3 years now.
    Belleville, Michigan

Just burnin lump in Sumpter
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,741
    Options
    been doing that for years now, have used most of the other methods and have always come back to whats on hand, paper towel and oil
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • gmac
    gmac Posts: 1,814
    Options
    I use propane when I have it, paper towel and used frying oil when I don't. 
    Mt Elgin Ontario - just a Large.
  • OhioEgger
    Options
    Propane torch kept in the cabinet of my egg table. I feel I get much faster starts than any other method, and a bottle of propane seems to last forever.
    Cincinnati, Ohio. Large BGE since 2011. Still learning.
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,336
    Options
    Welcome aboard and enjoy the journey.  As you can tell with just the postings here, many ways to get there and about all will work.  Experiment if you want but once you find a method that works for you, that's all you need.