Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Plate Setter vs. Fire Bricks

Charly
Charly Posts: 23
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Let me start off by saying I have been egging for about 6 months now and I'm confused about something (not that uncommon).Am I the only Egger who uses a plate setter for indirect cooking?I use the plate setter/pizza stone combo for pizza and invert the plate setter with a drip pan for indirect.I was told when I bought my egg that the plate setter was a new accessory that was supposed to replace the need for fire bricks,but by reading all the posts and looking at all the pics,fire bricks seem to be alive and well.Let me know if I'm missing out on something and need to start calling the brick yards.

Comments

• Gfw
    Gfw Posts: 1,598
    MyBge.jpg
    <p />Charly, Firebricks will be alive and well for some time to come - nothing wrong with the plate setter and a lot of the forum members use them, except that BGE doesn't make one for any cooker except the large. [p]I use firebricks for a variety of things, mostly for low/slow cooks - I really believe the additional mass helps to stabilize the temp for longer cooks - I've managed 170-180 degrees for about 11 hours and 225 degrees for about 20 hours - but then I have a medium BGE![p]
    [ul][li]Gfw's BBQ [/ul]
  • Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642