Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Sausage making

Hi everyone...trying to cut out sugar as much as possible and thought I might try my hand at sausage making. I may take it to the next level and do links, but right now I just looking for tips or recipes for patties. I have a Cuisinart food processor with the separate grinder, but I've never used that accessory before.

Thanks in advance! Y'all are the best!!!!

If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under.

Ronald Reagan

Comments

• onedbguru
    onedbguru Posts: 1,647
    I have the KitchenAid mixer grinder attachment. A few weeks ago did ~8lbs of Italian sausages (in links).  Just find a recipe that looks good and depending on your  heat tolerance, start with less cayenne or pepper flakes and test it out.  Grinding it is pretty simple.  Just cut into 1-1.5" cubes and stuff it in the grinder and use the "stuffer" to push it in until it all comes out.  Then mix in the seasoning, fry up a 1" flat patty for QC and adjust seasoning as necessary.

I bought casing from Whole Foods ($2.99 lb) and we got 2 lbs.  WAYYYY TOO MUCH.  However, it will keep in a container covered in salt in the fridge. One "casing" will go a very long way.  We only used about 1/2 of one.  
  • Dawgtired
    Dawgtired Posts: 632
    onedbguru said: