Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How to grill whole fish, timings, and how stop it sticking

Options

Hello

I'm pretty new to this.  I have just bought a 4.5 pound Halibut that I want to grill whole.

As its a beautiful but pricey piece of fish, I want to make sure I get it right. So can I please ask for some advice.

I've already tried mackerel and the fish just stuck to the grill. I want to stop this happening.  

How do I prepare the grill?  Its the original Stainless Steel one.  Its getting a little grubby as I am not cleaning it between cooks.  I just scrape of the last "bits" with a steel brush.  So, should I clean it properly? should I oil it? Any other tips to stop it sticking?

Next: what is the best grilling temperature I should aim for a whole fish?  And how long (or what internal termp) should I aim for?

Thanks for any advice!

Comments

• mrs_story
    mrs_story Posts: 136
    Options
    Hey there!  I just did my first piece of fish a few days ago (not a whole fish).  I was very nervous and asked for advice.  You might find some of it to be helpful:

http://eggheadforum.com/discussion/1197168/advice-for-fish-please#latest

We used a cast iron grate.  My husband is pretty good about brushing the grate at the end of a cook, and before starting another, but I don't know if he oiled the grates this time, because he used the griddle for his part of dinner that night.  However, I gave the skin a spritz of Smart Balance cooking spray before putting them on, and sticking wasn't an issue.