Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Beef Ribs, What Am I Lookin' At Here?

Options
I have never done beef ribs before. I have been reading today between work breaks on how to do them on here and I think I have a general idea. 

However, my buddy brought these to me from his freezer (he bought a half cow) and they were just labeled "beef ribs" (no $h!t, guy) so I don't know what I am working with here. 

I saw some other threads saying beef plate ribs, some saying chuck, some saying short, and people having different cook times. 

My questions are
"What would these be called" 
"Will the cut change cook time"
"Do I leave them whole or cut them in to smaller pieces?"

honestly I got so far down the rabbit hole on this forum today I'm passed overwhelmed and bordering on, "indirect 250 until we get hungry" so any and all advice here is welcome. 

"Brought to you by bourbon, bacon, and a series of questionable life decisions."

South of Nashville, TN

Comments

• RedSkip
    RedSkip Posts: 1,400
    Options
    I'd flip those over and cut on both sides of the bones evenly.   Look like short ribs to me, but uncut.

im not an expert though, I'd wait for more solid advice
    Large BGE - McDonald, PA
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    I can see some small sort of round bone ends on the centerpiece. That one is probably from the chuck. Those generally need some time braising in foil often w. added fluid to not be tough. You might cut the bones out, and slice the meat much thinner, 1/4 inch acrros the grain, and cook fast to brown the meat.