Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Advice... How should I cook this pork roast?

Options
Hi all -

I picked up this piece of meat at the farmers market last week, planning to cook it next weekend (so no rush). Wanted a shoulder but this was what they had and it looked nice, and this guy is local and his other meats are great...

Do my question is... Do I cook this to a specific internal temp like 140 and slice it, or can I do a low and slow to 200 internal temp and try and pull it? I suspect it's a lean piece of meat so probably should aim for 140 but I'm still really new to this stuff...

Thanks all! 

JacksDad

Large BGE -- New Jersey

Comments

• JacksDad
    JacksDad Posts: 538
    Options
    Haha forgot the pics! 

Large BGE -- New Jersey

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    From the looks of it, I'm guessing it is a portion of pork loin. Your intuition is correct. Not enough fat or connective tissue, and would dry before becoming pullable.

Think of it as a big chunk of boneless chops that haven't been sliced yet.

If you care too, they are easy to slice open and stuff w. various veggies, cheeses, etc. The fillings add moisture, as well as flavor to what is usually a bland piece of meat. Some folks then wrap them in bacon to offset the low amount of fat.
  • JacksDad
    Options
    Thank you! 

I'm going to be out of town for a few days, want to cook it as soon as I get back -- can I take this thing (frozen) and put it in the fridge for a week to thaw? Or should I thaw closer to when I cook it?

This forum is great.