Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Done with Royal Oak

Options
    I've been using Royal Oak for the past 5 years and been very happy with it. A couple of years ago they switched from a 20 lb bag to a 17.6 lb bag.... O.K. I can live with that. This year they went to 15.6 lb bag.... same price ..... enough is enough.
Three weeks ago I bought a 40lb bag of Diablo Mesquite from Costco for 12.00.... I love it.
    Thank you Royal Oak for persuading me to try something different, your greed is saving me lots of $. Would have stayed with you if you hadn't played the size game.    
     Just my 2 cents

Comments

• HeavyG
    HeavyG Posts: 10,350
    Options
    Well, it's either that or a straight up price increase. Many manufacturers - not just Royal Oak - have thought that consumers would rather keep the price the same and get a little less than before.

Either way it s actually a price increase but marketing/psychology is a mysterious thing sometimes.
    “Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.” ― Philip K. Diçk

• blasting
    blasting Posts: 6,262
    Options
    Hey Steve - welcome.

I've posted as well that I would prefer they just up the price rather than trying to sneak it past.

El Diablo... I'm glad you like it -  no bueno for me.
    Phoenix 
  • KiterTodd
    KiterTodd Posts: 2,466
    Options
    Ugh, they do that with everything and it is so annoying.  How many times have you cooked up a pound of bacon, wondered why it resulted in so little, only to realize it was one of the ever common 12 oz. "pound" size packages.