Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket Question

Options

I have never done a Brisket before and wondered what the experts look for in choosing a good low and slow Brisket?   I'm asking weight/fat cap/type (i.e flat).  I know I am probably missing some things so any advice on the choosing would be greatly appreciated.    I'm not planning on a set date for the brisket I just know I want to do one and felt like some homework would be warranted ... thanks in advance!

Fight like a man so you don't die like a dog

- Calico Jack Rackham

1,000 watt Sharp - 1.1 Cu. Ft. Mid-Size Microwave and one sweet steakager (retail 229$) 

Scruffy City a.k.a. Knoxville, TN.

Comments

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    Options
    Whole packer brisket, at least 14 pounds, choice or better, good marbling across the flat. If possible, with a little age on it. Have fun!
    Chris
    DizzyPigBBQ.com
    Twitter: @dizzypigbbq
    Facebook: Dizzy Pig Seasonings
    Instagram: @DizzyPigBBQ
  • PirateBill
    PirateBill Posts: 259
    Options
    Whole packer brisket, at least 14 pounds, choice or better, good marbling across the flat. If possible, with a little age on it. Have fun!
    Chris
    what is the smallest you have gone? 14 seems huge for the wife and I (no kidos) ... of course being new I might be wrong.

Fight like a man so you don't die like a dog

- Calico Jack Rackham

1,000 watt Sharp - 1.1 Cu. Ft. Mid-Size Microwave and one sweet steakager (retail 229$) 

Scruffy City a.k.a. Knoxville, TN.

• YukonRon
    YukonRon Posts: 16,989
    Options
    Chris