Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie pizza questions

An Egg Downunder
An Egg Downunder Posts: 152
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I’m a newbie wanting to try pizza for the first time on my large BGE later this week. I’ve been trawling through the archives in regard to egging pizza and now I’m confused.[p]There seem to be a couple of schools of thought. One suggests it is best to take the temp right up (600+) and cook in a very short time. The other appears to advocate lower temps and a longer cooking time.[p]Some of the pics of pizzas cooked by method #1 do seem to have slightly undercooked toppings (at least, in my opinion). [p]My thought was to go for 450-500 degrees and adjust the slider/daisy wheel to keep as much heat as possible in the dome to cook the top as well as the bottom of the pizza. Is this likely to result in an edible pizza?[p]I have a 15 inch diameter ¾ inch thick ceramic disk to use as a 'stone'. I’m not sure whether to place it on top of three firebricks standing on edge on the grate (as per Mercedes-Benz star) or use 4 bricks - two lying flat on the grate and other two on edge supporting the stone. [p]No one has heard of a place setter in Australia, so that’s not an option. Any advice on how to configure the stone/bricks and controlling temps would be greatly appreciated.[p]

Comments

• Lucky Duck
    Lucky Duck Posts: 80