Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

3# Rib Cap

Options
HofstraJet
HofstraJet Posts: 1,156
edited June 2016 in EggHead Forum
Following in the footsteps of this thread when I was a newbie, I am once again trying a dry aged rib cap, this time the 3# version.

Purchased from Flannery Beef.

Will keep everyone updated.

Two Large Eggs, 6 gal Cajun Fryer, and a MiniMax in Charlotte, NC - My New Table
Twitter: @ Bags
Blog: TheJetsFan.com

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,385
    Options
    Dang-that is a beautiful hunk of beef.  Enjoy the cook.
    FWIW I find the cook easier to nail if the cap is not jelly rolled-just gotta pay more attention as it cooks quickly.
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • Eggdicted_Dawgfan
    Options
    Interested to see the outcome. How long do you plan to dry age? Bag or naked? Do you dry age rolled and then unroll to cook or keep it rolled? I did not know this cut would hold up to dry aging. Learn something new every day on this site. Good luck and post results! 
    Snellville, GA

• Sea2Ski
    Sea2Ski Posts: 4,088
    Options
    How long you going to age it for?

Not sure if I would do it myself. I like it as-is and it is plenty rich enough for me. I like it unrolled, then cooked direct and hot for a good crust.