Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Hello! Newbie here!

Good morning, everyone! 

We're new to this forum, and new owners of a large Big Green Egg.  I've been lurking for a couple weeks, but finally signed up a few days ago.  I'm still trying to figure out the jargon, but it's coming along.

The egg was a gift from my husband's employer.  They wanted to thank him for all that he's been doing for him.  But it was a bit of a fiasco.  The boss called me to let me know and make sure I'd be home for the delivery, but he wanted me to keep it a secret.  Then he told him the next day.  :-) 

They ordered a medium egg from Sam's.  It was delivered by some contract courier.  I had the guy put the boxes in my entry, and left them for my husband to open when he got home.  So after dinner he started opening the boxes, and it was broken.  I'll try to figure out how to post a picture later.  He let the folks at work know, they apologized and said they'd take care of it.  Except Sam's isn't an authorized dealer.  About a week and a half of having to squeeze around these boxes in my entry (I have a small house!), I started ENCOURAGING my husband to ask about the status.  The boss fussed at the accounting lady (in charge of ordering for us), so she ordered a large egg from a local authorized dealer.  Managed to get Sam's to pick up the medium with their 100% satisfaction guarantee (took two weeks).