Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Getting my Egg Hot Enough

Options
I am very new to the Egg.  Got it for my birthday a couple of weeks ago!  I believe I am doing things correctly when lighting (correct amount of charcoal, top and bottom vents open, etc.), but I can't seem to get the Egg hotter than 350 to 400 degrees.  What might I be doing wrong?

Comments

• buzd504
    buzd504 Posts: 3,824
    Options
    Is the opening in your firebox aligned with the bottom vent?

Are you filling to the top of the firebox (or higher) with lump?

Have you removed the daisy wheel?

NOLA
  • Troykahack
    Troykahack Posts: 38
    Options
    i am new to BGE too, about three weeks.... i was having the same issue.  My problem was i was closing things up too early, not letting the lump get really going.  i couldn't get the temp up to cook a pizza for over an hour.  once I opened the dome and let it breathe, it was then easier to regulate the heat.  now i can get my temp up and higher as needed and also easier to control slow and low 200-300, as well as 300-400,
    LBGE May 2016
    Ormond Beach, FL
  • dward3335
    dward3335 Posts: 4
    Options
    Ahhh, that makes sense.  I have been doing the exact same thing.  Thank you very much!

• bodski
    bodski Posts: 463
    Options
    You might want to check that the grate that the lump sits on is not restricted. Also, if you haven't checked your thermometer's calibration, that would be a good idea too.

Cincinnati

LBGE, Weber Kettle

• dward3335
    Options
    Thank you all for the comments!  I will check all of these things!