Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie here ! Help me on Temperature Control !!!

Options

Hi

Proud new owner of a large BGE in the UK

Problem ! I can't get temperature below 270F on indirect, even with top and bottom vents virtually closed. 270F is a bit too high for "low and slow". I've read on here about different temps in the dome and on the grill, and differential might be 30F etc, lots of information, often contradictory !

I'm relying on the thermometer provided with the BGE

So, is the problem a temperature problem or a thermometer problem?

I'll be very disappointed after paying UK prices to find this piece of kit is substandard

I look forward to your responses !

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,341
    Options
    Before there's too much info here, have you checked the calibration of your dome thermo?  
    Boil some water, and insert the thermo-should read around 100*C, if not adjust out the off-set using the nut on the back of the thermo, then re-check. FWIW-
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • Darby_Crenshaw
    Darby_Crenshaw Posts: 2,657
    Options
    in addition to the above...

"getting it below" a temp sounds like you are already above it and trying to come back down.  so don't go over it.

catch it on the way up.  the egg holds a lot of heat, if someone told you to let it get a good fire going and THEN clamp down to your desired temperature, then they aren't anyone who uses a BGE.