Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How long without foiling?

Options
I'm not too experienced with pork ribs.  On Saturday I did two baby back rib racks without foiling for around 4 hours.  (All cooking temperatures for all cooks at 250F)  I basted with some apple juice/apple cider vinegar every 30 minutes or so.  Did not pass a bend test at 4 hours, so kept them on another half hour.  I had to eat so I pulled them and they were tough.  I did not remove the membrane either as some say not to.  But boy were they flavourful. 

Today I did two more racks, similar size, removed the membrane, same rub as before, cooked for two hours and then foiled for two with about 4 or 5 tablespoons of peach juice each.  These ones were really tender after 4 hours but they tasted like the Saturday racks were rinsed under the hot water tap for 5 minutes before eating.  No flavour at all.  I think 2 hours of foiling is way too long.

So what next - adjust the foiling frequency? or try without foiling for longer?  Does removing the membrane make a difference?  And with no foiling how long till tender?  This is for baby back ribs.  Thanks.

Comments

• bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    Options
    If you foil (more fall off the bone goal), 1 1/2 hours is plenty.  Cooking to bend test end point (longer) without foil works well.  Same as with foil, cook to the endpoint.  Removing the membrane is a good idea IMHO.  Without foil at 250 your looking at about 5 hours but trust the endpoint.
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • SoCalTim
    SoCalTim Posts: 2,158
    Options