Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Kenji's The Food Lab

Focker
Focker Posts: 8,364
edited April 2016 in EggHead Forum
At 7lbs, holy smokes is this book thurough.  If you're a serious science nerd in the kitchen whether indoors or out,  I HIGHLY recommend this read.

I'm just getting into the thick of it, and it's awesome.  Like a modern day Betty Crocker.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/0393081087/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1460389026&sr=8-1&pi=SY200_QL40&keywords=food+lab&dpPl=1&dpID=41tYfjj6yML&ref=plSrch

Brandon
Quad Cities
"If yer gonna denigrate, familiarity with the subject is helpful."

Comments

• blind99
    blind99 Posts: 4,971

He's got some good stuff in there.  I like his writing.

I managed to get "Modernist Cuisine at Home" from the library.  Wow it's incredible.  Now I want a sous vide setup, a siphon, and a pressure cooker.

Chicago, IL - Large and Small BGE - Weber Gasser and Kettle
  • Focker
    blind99 said:

He's got some good stuff in there.  I like his writing.

I managed to get "Modernist Cuisine at Home" from the library.  Wow it's incredible.  Now I want a sous vide setup, a siphon, and a pressure cooker.

Thanks, I'm sure that's where I'm headed after this.  =)
    Brandon
    Quad Cities

• BigWader
    BigWader Posts: 673
    what does it offer that a google search of serious eats doesn't?  I've cut way back on cookbooks and food magazines since I realized I usually default to google.

Toronto, Canada

Large BGE, Small BGE

• dmchicago
    dmchicago Posts: 4,516
    A friend sent it to us a few weeks ago. Really great cookbook/science lesson.