Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lighting the lump? One place or more?

Options
hey everyone
im a relative novice,I have a large egg and use fire starter squares.so far I take two squares and cut them each into four pieces.my reasoning is by starting the lump in eight spots it would all light even.ive been reading that some start it in the middle only?is that what works best?  Thanks!!

Comments

• Darby_Crenshaw
    Darby_Crenshaw Posts: 2,657
    Options
    for a low fire, you only really need one spot.  a 250 dorm temp won't be achieved with a fire evenly lit across all the lump. temp would be higher with that much lump involved

for other fires, higher temps, sure, light it in more than one spot.

fire follows the oxygen, which (at least in my egg) usually means the fire burns downward.  if i want a true bed of coals across the top, i open the dome and shut the lower vents.  the fire stays on tip because that's where the air is (with dome open)

[social media disclaimer: irony and sarcasm may be used in some or all of user's posts; emoticon usage is intended to indicate moderately jocular social interaction; the comments toward users, their usernames, and the real people (living or dead) that they refer to are not intended to be adversarial in nature; those replying to this user are entering into a tacit agreement that they are real-life or social-media acquaintances and/or have agreed to or tacitly agreed to perpetrate occasional good-natured ribbing between and among themselves and others]

• Captainjimpark
    Options
    Thanks for the tip,I'm gonna try that.