Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Competition

Hey guys, it's been awhile since I posted last. Took on a new position at work and I have extremely busy. Anyway, I entered a local rib contest and was just seeing if anyone had any pointers. I have never done one before but have been thinking about for some time. Any tips and/or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Pure Michigan
Large BGE, Medium BGE, Mini BGE, Weber Smokey Mountain, Weber Performer.
If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.

Comments

• johnnyp
    johnnyp Posts: 3,932
    in general, at competitions, people expect ribs to be sauced.  Blues hog BBQ sauce has a unique flavor that's gone over well on the competition circuit. It's a thinner sauce and provides a sweet glaze to the ribs.
    XL & MM BGE, 36" Blackstone - Newport News, VA
  • Crimsongator
    Crimsongator Posts: 5,797
    Tell me more about the contest and that will let me know what type of advice to give you. is it a local, fun event with celebrity judges or some sanctioned contest that requires turn in boxes?
  • Sanctioned event with turn in boxes and Kansas City BBQ society judges. Set up is at 7, then a meat inspection. After that we can start cooking. Turn in is at 2
    Pure Michigan
  • Crimsongator
    OK. You will definitely want to garnish. You can search youtube for videos on parsley or lettuce boxes.